Configuring Account Settings

The Account Settings tab provides an executive summary of the synced folders in your account and allows you to modify them. It also provides a detailed report about storage usage. Finally, it allows you to change the files that SECURESHARE should ignore and to modify various aspects of the current account settings such as user name, password and server URL.

To access the Settings menu, click on the SECURESHARE icon in the system tray, and then click on Settings.

SYNC STATUS


This section allows you to modify the core sync folders as well as manage the sync process.
  • Add Folder – modifies the local sync folder (default "SECURESHARE" folder) and the destination folder in SECURESHARE 
  • Pause – allows you to pause and resume the sync process
  • Remove – removes the current sync folder
  • Choose what to sync - Allow you to  decide which folder you want to sync on your computer and which you only want to keep only on the cloud.
  • Info – provides information on sync activity with files & folders in SECURESHARE (see Sync Protocol Window description on next page)
Options in the Sync Status section of the Account Settings tab are advanced features, which may negatively impact the synchronization process as well as data stored on SECURESHARE.

Sync Protocol


The Sync Protocol window, which can be invoked from either the Main Menu (Recent Changes > Details …) or the Account Settings (Info button), provides an in-depth summary of recent sync activity. It also shows files that have not been synched (ignored files). These files are ignored either because they are listed in the ignored files list (see Ignored Files Editor section below) or because they cannot be synced in a cross-platform manner because they contain special characters that cannot be stored on certain file systems.

 ACCOUNT MAINTENANCE


These options allows you to change the “types” that can be backed up and synced to SECURESHARE as well as modify the Server Address, Username and Password.

Ignored Files Editor


The ignored files editor allows adding patterns for files or directories that should be excluded from the sync process. Next to normal characters, wildcards can be used to match an arbitrary number of characters, designated by an asterisk (*) or a single character, designated by a question mark (?). (See following page for complete list of Ignored Files)

Global defaults cannot be directly modified within the editor. Hovering with the mouse will reveal the location of the global exclude definition file.

In addition to this list, the SECURESHARE Desktop client always excludes files with characters that cannot be synced down to other files systems. (See Ignored Files)

 Modifying the global exclude definition file might render the client unusable or cause undesired behavior.

 Custom entries are currently not validated for syntactical correctness by the editor, but might fail to load correctly.

Ignored Files – Complete Listing

*.filepart
*~
*.part
*.crdownload
*.unison*
*csync_timedif.ctmp*
~$*
*csync_journal.db
*csync_journal.db.ctmp
.*.sw?
.*.*sw?
.DS_Store
.ds_store
.~lock.*
Thumbs.db
desktop.ini
*.kate-swp
*_conflict-*
*.~*
.TemporaryItems
.Trashes
.DocumentRevisions-V100
.fseventd
.apdisk
.htaccess
Icon\r*





Modify Account


This option allows you to switch from one account to another SECURESHARE account.


STORAGE USAGE


This section allows you to monitor your storage usage on SECURESHARE.


Activity tab


The tab provides information about every action that is happening between your computer, the client and the server.

General tab


The tab provides application launch and notification options.

Launch on System Startup: This option is automatically activated once a user account is configured. Unchecking the box will cause the SECURESHARE client to not launch on startup.

Show Desktop Notifications: Display bubble notifications whenever there is a change to your files and folders or when a set of sync operations has been performed.


Network tab


The tab provides configuration options for Proxy settings and Bandwidth Limiting.

Proxy Settings

No Proxy: Check this option if SECURESHARE should circumvent the default proxy configured for the system.
Use system proxy: Default setting – will follow systems proxy settings.
Specify proxy manually as: Allows you to specify custom proxy settings. If you’re required to go through a HTTP(S) proxy server such as Squid or Microsoft Forefront TMG, select HTTP(S). SOCKSv5 is particularly useful in special LAN setups or in combination with the OpenSSH dynamic application level-forwarding feature (see ssh –D).
Host: Enter the host name or IP address of your proxy server, followed by the port number. HTTP proxies usually listen on ports 8080 (default) or 3128. SOCKS servers usually listen on port 1080.
Proxy server requires authentication: Should be checked if the proxy server does not allow anonymous usage. If the option is checked, you must provide username and passwords in the filed below or the SECURESHARE server will no longer be able to connect successfully.

Bandwidth Limiting
The Download Bandwidth (i.e. the bandwidth available for data flowing from SECURESHARE to the client) can be either Unlimited (default) or limited to a custom value, specified in kilobytes.
The Upload Bandwidth (i.e. the bandwidth available for data flowing from client to SECURESHARE) has the additional option to Limit Automatically. When this option is checked the client will surrender available upstream bandwidth to other applications. Use this option if you experience problems in real time communication, such as Skype or other VoIP software, in conjunction with the client.

This is commonly the case with asymmetric Internet connections, such as DSL lines with very limited upstream capacities.

The SECURESHARE Desktop client will pick up changes immediately, but ongoing operations will finish using the old settings.

Feedback and Knowledge Base